Board Briefs


Savannah R-III

Board Briefs

Board of Education Meeting

December 12, 2018


Recognition: The Board recognized Amanda Heimbaugh, 2nd-grade teacher, for her work with the district assessment team and LouAnn Mahlandt for her work with the Missouri Options students.  Both of these team members go above and beyond for the students of the Savannah R-III School District. 


New Hires:  Clint Lawyer was hired as a Para for Minnie Cline Elementary.  Welcome to the tribe!


Resignations: The Board accepted a resignation from Trish Grissom, SACC Director effective December 21, 2018


Retirement: The Board accepted letters of retirement from Tonya Young, HS FACS Teacher; Joan Bryan, AZ Kindergarten Teacher; and Ken Brockett, MS Social Studies Teacher. All retirements effective at the end of the 2018-19 school year.   


Substitute Teachers: Aaron Spinler and Amadee Huck have been approved to sub.   


Annual Audit: The Board reviewed and accepted the 2018 Audit.  Please see the Board agenda for the full audit. 


Start Time Changes: Beginning in the 2019-20 The High School will begin ten minutes earlier with a school day from 7:35 am -- 2:48 pm and the Middle School will start five minutes later with a school day from 7:50 am -- 3:05 pm. All elementary times will stay the same. 


HR/Finance Software: The Board approved Powerschool’s EFinance program to replace the current Chalkable system that is being discontinued. 


Facilities Audit: The Board agreed to enter negotiations with Goldberg Group Architects (GGA) for the purpose of a facility audit. 


Belcher Scholarship: Haley Frieling was nominated for the Belcher Scholarship award. 


Program Review: The Board reviewed the current Guidance and Counseling Programs.  Check the Board agenda for more information. 


Board Goals:  The Board is working to identify District-wide goals.  This is a work in progress and will be revisited at a later work session. 


Ad Hoc Committees: The facilities committee recommended that the Board consider moving forward with an $o.69 levy with no sunset in the August election.  Full committee meeting minutes are attached to the board agenda.    


Board Filing: Filing for candidates interested in running for the Board

The next Savannah R-III Regular School Board meeting will be held Tuesday, November 13, 2018, starting at 7:00 PM at the Savannah R-III Central Office Meeting Room. The October Work Session has been canceled.